PROCEEDINGS

A meeting of the Lancaster City Council was held in the Ashton Hall, Lancaster, at 12.00 p.m. on Friday, 10 May 2024, when the following Members were present:-

Roger Dennison (Mayor) Suhir Abuhajar Mandy Bannon Paul Newton Gerry Blaikie Keith Budden Tom Fish Alan Greenwell John Hanson Colin Hartley Caroline Jackson Jack Lenox Sally Maddocks Metcalf-Riener Hamish Mills Margaret Pattison Robert Redfern James Sommerville David Whitaker Jason Wood

Martin Bottoms (Deputy Mayor) Joanne Ainscough Phillip Black Louise Belcher Dave Brookes Gina Dowding Martin Gawith Tim Hamilton-Cox Paul Hart **Ross Hunter** Peter Jackson John Livermore Sarah McGowan Abi Mills Jean Parr **Catherine Potter** Sam Riches Sue Tyldesley Nick Wilkinson

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Catherine Armistead, Matthew Black, Phil Bradley, Roger Cleet, Ruth Colbridge, Brett Cooper, Claire Cozler, Andrew Gardiner, Erin Hall, Chris Hanna, Chris Harris, Kate Knight, Sophie Maddocks, Susan Penney, Joyce Pritchard, Sarah Punshon, Grace Russell, Jackson Stubbs, Paul Stubbins, Sandra Thornberry, Paul Tynon and John Wild.

2 VOTE OF THANKS

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress was moved by Councillor Keith Budden and seconded by Councillor Robert Redfern.

On being put to the vote, the proposition was clearly carried.

The retiring Mayor responded.

Resolved:

- (1) That the best thanks of the City Council be conveyed to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Roger Dennison for the service rendered to the City during 2023/24 and for presiding over the deliberations of the City Council during that period.
- (2) That the best thanks of the City Council be conveyed to the retiring Mayoress, Mrs Glenys Dennison for the manner in which she performed the many functions in her year of office.

3 ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Peter Jackson and seconded by Councillor Caroline Jackson that Councillor Abi Mills be elected Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the municipal year 2024/25.

On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition clearly carried.

Resolved:

That Councillor Abi Mills be elected Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the municipal year 2024/25.

Councillor Abi Mills thereupon made and subscribed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office as required by Section 83(3) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended before the Chief Executive as the proper officer of the Council.

The Chair was then vacated by Councillor Dennison and taken by the Mayor.

On taking the Chair, the Mayor expressed her thanks to the meeting and presented the retiring Mayor and Mayoress with their badges.

4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Upon the invitation of the Mayor, Councillor Joanne Ainscough proposed:-

"That Councillor Hamish Mills be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the municipal year 2024/25".

The proposition was seconded by Councillor Gina Dowding.

On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition clearly carried.

Resolved:

That Councillor Hamish Mills be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the municipal year 2024/25.

Councillor Hamish Mills thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as required by Section 83(3) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended before the Chief Executive as the proper officer of the Council.

5 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor thanked all the school children who had attended the meeting and, in particular, Scotforth St Paul's C of E Primary School, who had given up their time to sing so beautifully to everyone.

Mayor

(The meeting finished at 12.25 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these minutes, please contact Debbie Chambers, Senior Manager, Democratic Support & Elections/Deputy Monitoring Officer - email dchambers@lancaster.gov.uk